Larry Rowen Remele Award

  Larry Rowen Remele

Larry Rowen Remele

Established by the Northern Great Plains History Conference to honor the memory of Larry Rowen Remele, this award is presented annually to an individual who has made significant contributions to the betterment of the conference. Remele, a long-time editor of North Dakota History, worked energetically to promote and enhance the conference and was serving as council chair at the time of his premature death in 1988.

The recipient of the 2018 Remele Award is Betsy Glade.  Dr. Glade earned her BA, MA, and PhD in History at the University of Colorado in Boulder in 1982, 1986, and 1996 respectively. Her focus was nineteenth-century American and women’s history. Her dissertation focused on a couple who lived in Richmond, Virginia, before, during, and after the American Civil War, and on their reconstruction of their memory of the war and their roles in it. It was entitled "Private Lives and Public Myths: The Bagbys of Virginia." Her scholarship has also explored social networks in Georgia in World War II, as well as the lifetime work of rehabilitating the reputation of General James Longstreet by his long-lived widow, Helen Dortch Longstreet. In the last several years, Dr. Glade has been working in the area of digital humanities, implementing a master’s certificate in DH at St. Cloud State University in 2017. After graduating in August of 1996, Dr. Glade took a fixed-term position at Morehead State University in Morehead, Kentucky. She was hired on a fixed term at St. Cloud State University in August 1997, and for a tenure-track position there in August 1998. She has served as chair of the History Department there since August 2011. She was introduced to the Northern Great Plains History Conference in 1998 when council representative from St. Cloud State University, Ed Pluth, encouraged her to submit her first paper to the 1998 conference, which she did. Ed and Betsy worked together to host the 1999 conference in St. Cloud, and then she took over the St. Cloud State University council position in the early 2000s. She was chosen for a three-year term as chair of the council at the 2010 meeting, and again at the 2013 meeting. She has been working with students on researching and presenting their work on the sesquicentennial of St. Cloud State University, first in a first-year seminar in the fall of 2017, which produced a digital timeline of the school’s history, and in a graduate seminar in the spring of 2018 the produced radio broadcasts, articles in the Stearns History Museum magazine Crossings, and presentations at the Spring Huskies Showcase at St. Cloud State and in Mankato’s 2018 Northern Great Plains History Conference. She retired from St. Cloud State University in July of 2018.

The previous winners of the Larry Rowen Remele Award are, in order of presentation:

  • D. Jerome Tweton
  • Archer Jones
  • Lawrence H. Larsen
  • James M. Skinner
  • William E. Lass
  • William C. Pratt
  • R. Alton Lee
  • David B. Danbom
  • Hans Burmeister
  • Dana Miller
  • Malcolm Muir, Jr.
  • Nancy Tyson Koupal
  • Harl A. Dalstrom
  • J. Michael McCormack
  • Charles M. Barber
  • Janet Daley
  • Edward Pluth
  • Gerald Anderson
  • Robert C. Hilderbrand
  • Frank E. Vyzralek
  • Joseph C. Fitzharris
  • James Naylor
  • Kathleen K. Davison
  • Lori Ann Lahlum
  • Anne Kaplan
  • Kimberly K. Porter
  • Gordon L. Iseminger
  • Mark Harvey
  • Perry Hornbacker